Camping solo, and staying safe, need advice.

Reaction score
Right so I'm trying to save my pay check towards a camper van and since hostels eat a hole in my wallet i was thinking of camping out. I'm in the blue mountains NSW australia. Thats on about 50 miles from sydney, but theres a lot of bushland and national parks. No trouble finding a place to camp, but it's my first time doing anything like this and since i'll be alone i'm feeling pretty nervous. I'm kind of worried about some wild mountain man carrying me off to his rape dungeon. I think I can camp pretty close to residential streets, just because the all end in bushland. Thing is i'll be in my swag and it's dense bush, so unless theres some guy with a dog i think i'll be pretty well invisible. I'm a pacifist so i'm not keen on carrying any kind of protection either. So should i be worried, or am i being unrealistic? seen to many hitchhiker movies? and does anyone have any advice for staying safe?

F

Firefly

No experience down under, but a lot of things are similar. Caring protection, even if its just a fixed blade knife should be a must. Just having it on your side will deter most basic violent encounters from humans. I carry a fixed blade knife on my belt and feel like it is needed.

Reactions: todd
K

Kim Chee

...but it's my first time doing anything like this and since i'll be alone i'm feeling pretty nervous. I'm kind of worried about some wild mountain man carrying me off to his rape dungeon.

I'm not sure why this would bother you. This happens to be the favorite fantasy of many travelers.

Unslap

Reaction score
Git sum pepper spray at a gun store or consignment shop. Enjoy, camping is fun

Reaction score