Re-soling boots

iTch

Reaction score
Okay, so this is more of me ASKING how to do something, and I offer no instruction here really, so I hope this is the proper place for this post. Anyways.. I got a pair of military combat boots. You may have seen the type before; no tags, shin high, steel toe, FLAT FUCKING GRIP-LESS SOLE. They slip all over any smooth linoleum, ice, smooth metal, anything smooth really. They have also caused me to slip off of a rung of a few ladders and hurt myself.
I hear that I could give these boots to a shoestore to have it done for like 40 bucks (yeah right), or to buy a resoling kit and do that, or to cut the tread off of an old (pre '50's) tire and glue it on, OR to just apply strips of glue to the sole to act as the grip itself.
I tried the just glue method and despite it being strong "shoe goo" or whatever, all the strips came off in a month.
If any of you have a good method please share.
Or am I just better of finding a different pair of boots?

Wolfeyes

Reaction score
You can use modern steel belted tires for a sole job, it just takes a bit more work. Search the highways for a blown out tire a bit wider than the bottom of the boot you'll be working on, 1-2" on each side of the widest point of the boot is good. You just want the tread portion, so don't bother if it's got too much of the sidewall attached.

With a pair of needle nosed pliers, grab two or three of the little steel wires at a time and peel them off. A little rubber will stick to the wires, but that's ok. Repeat until there are no more wires left to take out. Don't get impatient and try to pull out too many at once. They should provide some resistance but should not be difficult. If it's being really difficult stop and try another spot.