Why did I fail?

B

Bathtub666

About a week ago, i decided that I wanted to leave to go south to FL. I live in Danbury CT, and I have never tried to hitch out of here before. Actually, I have never tried to hitch out of anywhere before. I read the posts here for tips, aswell as the hitchhiking section of "Recipies for Disaster" by CrimethInc., and figured it dosen't sound too hard. I took a commuter train to Stamford, which is a pretty big city, because I though I would have better luck, as well as access to I-95, which is a straight shot to FL. I stood by the onramp to I-95 south for about 3 hours. I held up a sign that said, "In the direction of Baltimore", thinking that it is a pretty reconizeable name, and that if I actually get there, I knew I could hop the rest of the way. Stamford is a big city but it's like one big buisness district. About 80% of the people that passed me were obviously rich folks that had no interest in picking up a dirty hitchhiker who might piss all over their $50000 dollar car. I got alot of confused looks, and laughs, and eventually decided to admit defeat. I don't really have access to a trainyard, and I really don't like paying for things, and was hoping on honeing my hitchhiking skills. Can anyone tell me where I went wrong? Was my sign too generic? Did I just not have the right look? Was I just not out there long enough? Are there some cities that are just un-hitchable? Let me know, I'd love to give it another shot. Thanks.

BT

Bendixontherails

Reaction score
you just never know with hitching. you can stand in one spot for a long ass time, or get gone quick. I have waited two days at a ramp before, and I have been picked up before my last ride was back on the road, too. so you just never know.

you have to just smile at the assholes and put off your, " not a serial killer " vibe.