Never squatted before

S

sykgutt

i have no experience in being homeless, and though i've researched it, i realized i don't really know how to go about it. i do know that i have to leave soon though. things at home aren't going well as usual, and i got kicked out. in other words, staying here is not an option. i am going to face a number of fines because i havent been going to school, and already social services is stepping in and i may be sent to military camp. i don't really feel like typing right now, and i dont have much time.

i remember there used to be a newbies section in here, but i cant seem to find it.

this is my plan: i am going to leave the house with my backpack, canteen, sleeping bag, clothes, some money, food, whatever else is neccesary. i am going to the nearest town, and i am going to try to find a way into philly (about 3 hours away driving). i really don't know what to do once i get there, or if i should even head there first.

does anyone have any advice for me? i have done some research, but you can't beat experience. most of all, i just want a successful excursion and to get the fuck out of here. i also have to keep in mind the coming winter, and the police (who have caught me before). thanks in advance.

bananathrash

Reaction score
well for one dont pack too much. pack food that will last. less clothes the better. bring a decent jacket. once you get to philly it should be easier for you to find some folks that can show you the ropes. i dont know how young you are, so be very careful. id really suggest craigslisting a rideshare rather than just hitchiking, if you are going alone, and have no experience.

D

DirtyRig

Please do not confuse "squatting" with "homelessness". That's a huge pet peeve of mine. For many of us, our squats ARE our homes.

S

sykgutt