Looking for Interviews

la6865

Reaction score
Hi everyone....I am a journalism/Creative Writing student at Emory University. I'm working on a final writing project about trainhopping - trainhopper's stories, backgrounds etc. (I became interested in the story after hearing about a great uncle of mine who hopped trains during the Great Depression and often wrote about it). I'm looking for some people to interview (and potentially shadow) so I can get first hand stories and really understand the lifestyle and the experience. If anyone in the Atlanta area (I'm willing to travel a bit to meet people, so maybe a 50 mile radius) is willing to sit down for an interview/show me around I would really appreciate the opportunity. (If you aren't in the ATL/GA area and would still be interested in being interviewed over the phone or via email, I'd be interested in that as well). Feel free to message me through here or email: labunas@emory.edu
Thanks very much!

creature

plastic wingnut in a microwave
Banned
Reaction score
40 years ago my Grandma's BF talked to me about that stuff.. i wound up on a flatbed outta can's ass, about 3 days later... boy, were people pissed at him : )

Tude

Sometimes traveler is traveling.
Reaction score
no. we have had way too many people here asking for the same thing. Seems like this kind of stuff is fodder for school papers all over the place. Cool stuff, but it is real stuff. A better topic that would be more useful would be how to take care of the homeless in the cities, how to feed them, how to house them versus tearing up their encampments and arresting people trying to distribute food to them. Now that would be a good topic.

la6865

Reaction score
@FoxSpirit - thanks very much! I'll look into it.