Homestead in Missouri

Mama Dragon

Reaction score
Hello, Im new to this forum and slightly new to the "lifestyle"

I live in rural Missouri. I'm a college student, studying Art and Theatre officially, but sustainable agriculture and local wildlife off the books. I've been a practicing freegan for 3 years, and a vegan for 5. I've hitchhiked around the midwest, but have never gone too far from home. I like camping and "living off the land".

Recently I got burned by the rural landlord I was renting from. I'm currently couch hopping, trying to get through this school year, but no one will let me keep my rescue animals (I steal chickens from factory farms and rehabilitate them, plus I have a very big dog).

I realized, while rambling through the rural area I live in, that there are hundreds of acres of unused land, BEAUTIFUL land, around here. A quick search through county records found over 3,000 acres owned by private persons living out of state. Many of these areas have abandoned and crumbling historical farmhouses. Why? Why does no one live there? And who will notice if i ignore all their buckshot "no tresspassing" signs?

I discovered the "squatter" movement online while researching the possibility of moving myself into an abandoned farm and fixing it up for me and the critters. Though I'm more of a farmer than a traveler, I think the spirit of freedom is the same.

So I'm looking for a farmhouse. I have several in mind (so if one doesn't work out, Ill just hop into the next one)

That's a pretty lengthy intro, and it may be my only post since i'm a terrible lurker....but Hello everyone! Once I get my farm established, if you ever find yourself in Columbia, MO, look me up! We'll have a bonfire.

compass

Lost
Reaction score
Awesome! Welcome! Hope you can find some useful info on the site. There are some really good folks, but it's a mixed crowd here, so be smart about who you invite to your squats. Good luck!

Apples

Reaction score