Squatting In Canada? | Squat the Planet

Squatting In Canada?

Reaction score
Ok so just signed up because I see alot of people squatting in abandoned buildings but wanted to know how to go about squatting on land.

I'm an American thinking about moving up to Canada (please don't laugh), around Vancouver (since its supposed to be warmer). I've never done the squatting thing before and wanted to know what is the best way to squat longterm (not get caught). I'm thinking of buying a small trailer off craigslist and high-tailing it out as soon as I have the funds and a plan.

I've never even camped before but off-grid is very appealing because of the freedom from financial chains. Anyone have any helpful advice about how to go about this? Is it hard to get into Canada? Any advice on living in a trailer (food/water sources, waste disposal, etc)?

Please no jokes or rude comments. I'm very serious about this.

T

tacology

If I was American, I'd probably move to Canada after the election too.

BC is probably the best way to do it, due to the weather and the land. There's a good amount of people who do live off the grid in that province.

I would recommend looking into eco villages in the area and trying those out short term, this way you could learn a few things and learn the land.

• Useful
Reactions: Mankini

ped

Glorified monkey
Banned
Reaction score
It's the definition. It's they who freeload from you.

WanderLost Radical

Reaction score
Okay, nice rant. So back on topic:

I've a feeling Canada doesn't have room for (or wants) half of America
Dude, you realise Canada is 95% empty land, right? XD

Also, OP, you can't legally move in to Canada without having some kind of skill or education that we are looking for. So moving to Canada to squat and homestead isn't really an option.