New to the game, looking for guidance

zesmothe

Reaction score
Hey everybody at STP! My name is Zane, I reside in Greensboro, NC, and I chanced upon The Anarchists Guide to Travel on an anarchist Facebook page several months ago and discovered this community as a result of reading it.

I'm currently a college student and work part-time, living with my folks. I've been completely disheartened with that approach to life and I want an opportunity to go out and experience the world instead of wasting my better years on rat race routines that leave me uninspired feeling like a drifting body. I don't have any traveling experience relevant to here but I do have some outdoor survival training and I can busk decently. I want to talk with people on here to learn about what's out there and would love to listen to fun and/or informative stories from travelers that have been doing this for a while before I try hitting the road for myself. Thanks for giving me a place where I might be able to find the direction I'm looking for and hopefully I may end up seeing some of you peeps out on the road soon :D

Jackthereaper

Reaction score
College can be so disheartening if you arent trying to get into a profession (law, medicine etc). Have you considered a trade? Mobile welders make a killing (seriously like 150-400 an hour). Check out chucke2009 on youtube. Plumbers, electricians, hell a decent seamstress can do well in a big city.

But yea, if college is wrecking your spirit then maybe consider a life change that will put you doing something you eiher enjoy, or can make good enough money at you can take 6 months off with no repercussion.

Reactions: zesmothe

zesmothe

Reaction score
Welcome! I'm in a fairly similar boat to you. Also at college, very disengaged with it, and wanting to do more. You're definitely taking the right steps by joining stp.