never hitchhiked in my life (1 Viewer)

cixcell

Considering hitchhiking from mesa arizona to florida. I have more friends in florida and none in arizona so I am kinda stuck and despite trying to immaculately clean their home my friends gf wants me out and she controls him. So I'm getting pushed out while the world is in chaos. advice? i know you old souls have alot of combined experience. I am a rookie who was formerly a tech worker.

We sell all kinds of other stuff in our Etsy store!

Bushpig

Wanderer
Pack light.
Be (or at least look) as clean as possible.
Expect to walk a lot. Plan for it unless you don't mind staying in one spot for a while waiting for a ride.
Don't do ANYTHING without the driver's permission. Ask before rolling window, smoking, taking your shoes off, etc.
If a driver wants to talk, talk. That's a very fair payment for a free ride. If they want silence, don't bother them.
Don't be afraid to turn down a ride if you have bad vibes.
Most truckers drive for companies. Companies don't allow passengers, so very few will pick you up.
Lots of water! Lots of calories! If you're walking a lot with a pack, you'll need these!
Walking the interstates makes it easier to get a ride, but it's illegal. Weigh the risk. You WILL have cops pull you over. If you have problems with authorities, don't bother. You WILL see them. They'll usually drive you to an exit or a truck stop/gas station if you're able to keep a cool head.

I'm bored of writing this. If you have specific questions, ask and either me or someone else will happily answer.

Good luck!

Ceed

Lurker
Some places are more stricts than others. Bring your smile, be optimistic. Lots of water. A sign can be useful but i dont carry one for some reasons. Cops will tolerate you in highway entries (sorry my english), but not directly on freeways.