What to do, What to do.

infekt

Reaction score
Hello STP. After discovering this forum and lurking here for awhile, I have finally made an account.

First, a little about myself. I'm from New Orleans, LA. I graduated high school (17), and moved to northern Louisiana for college. Its not that I didnt like New Orleans, it was that I had always lived there (except for a brief stint in Birmingham), and I just wanted something different. Two years into college (19), I realized I had made a mistake. I shouldn't have gone to school. The road was where my heart was. At the end of that year, I took the summer, hit the road, and lived out of my car for two and a half months.

Though I loved the sense of freedom, I decided to finish my degree, since I was already half done. Yes, I know how everyone on this site feels about degrees and fire. But I was half done, and the degree was a useful one (Computer Science), so I decided to stick it out. The next summer (20) I decided to go traveling again, but this time, I met one of the coolest people I've ever known, a traveler named David, and I spent roughly half the summer hopping with him.

Again I decided to go back and finish my degree, despite knowing that it wasn't really what I wanted to do. Well, over the next two years, I completely lost myself in the system. I forgot what was important to me, and was really unfulfilled. On the upside, now, after 5 years of college (22), I have a degree in computer science. I've been accepted into grad school (with a free ride), and I've been offered jobs.

Well, now the yearning for freedom has come back to me, and I am at a total loss as to what to do. I know I NEED to be back on the road (preferably hitching this time), but I'm having trouble working out when or how. I'd like to get my Masters, and if I don't do grad school now, I'll be giving up my free ride. Also, I can't just quit on life at this point, because I have students loans I'll need to pay off, and a lease.