Featured - Three weeks in Yellowstone | Squat the Planet

Featured Three weeks in Yellowstone

MolotovMocktail

Subverting from within
Reaction score
In June, I graduated from high school. I worked my ass off to get there and it was fucking awesome to be done with it. The problem was that I had no idea what the fuck to do after I was done. I thought about traveling but ultimately decided to work and save up some money first. Around the same time my mom started preparing to move out of the house I had grown up in and move out to the sticks.

So less than a month out of high school, I started applying for a bunch of jobs and looking for a place to live. I had the idea to find both in one place so I looked for places with employee housing. So in addition to all the jobs I was applying to in town I applied to work at several parks and resorts around the country. I eventually landed a sweet gig in town stapling posters on telephone poles that paid really well. After a month or so of that, I got an email from Yellowstone Park asking if I could come work for them. I had totally forgotten that I had even applied to the job. I thought about it for a while then decided to take the job. Less than a week after the job offer, I had said my goodbyes and headed to Wyoming.

I worked in the Canyon General Store as a fry cook. There's a 50's-themed soda fountain in the store that serves mediocre food like burgers and eggs and shit. It was my job to make that mediocre food. The pay was $8.85 an hour. I worked five days a week on split shifts. Early shift was seven to noon then three to six. Late shift was noon to three then six to about ten. One week I would work early shift then the next week I would work late shift. The work was simple but fucking exhausting. I had to take a nap between shifts otherwise I couldn't function. So five days a week all I would do is work and sleep.