Sailing/Rowing from Louisiana along coast to Yucatan then Cuba

L

liberationmoves

I want to make this trip in a boat. If anyone has any experience sailing this area or information, share it. I want to do this in some real cheap boat something with sails and oars. if getting a boat in the US and going all the way along the the coast is too difficult then I would like to sail from the Yucatan to Cuba.

Is anyone seriously interested in this trip?

sucuri

Reaction score
Website
www.HitchTheWorld.com
That's quite an undertaking. I've got some experience in building sails on cheap wooden boats, but I've never taken them on the actual sea. I stick to rivers -- but even that is pretty nerve-racking at times. You already know how to sail, I hope.

The coast is one thing. Yucatan to Cuba is quite another. If you don't know what you're doing than you will very possibly disappear in the Gulf of Mexico. I reckon it would be a helluva a lot easier to follow the coast.

You can probably find a cheap wooden fishing rowboat in Mexico somewhere. I would lanteen rig it if I were you, augment the keel, and attach a solid rudder. Maybe even lee boards. I would not reccomend straying far from the coast, ever.

Reactions: MirrorLamp
L

liberationmoves

For those wanting to sail to mexico here are some relevant links - http://www.banjercito.com.mx/ There is a link for the boat importing permit in the vertical menu, in English no less.
http://www.sat.gob.mx/aduanas/vehiculos/importacion_temporal/Paginas/embarcaciones.aspx
http://www.mexonline.com/boatmex.htm

As for Cuba, the information I am seeing is that it will cost you about 55 CUC and then you need the tourist card if you plan to stay for more than 3 days. I cant find much more than that at the moment. This guy is selling a book and has dock prices - http://cruisingincuba.com/cuba_marinas.htm

One more thing , you have to have insurance coverage or buy it, its from 3 - 4.50 CUC per day. if purchased there.

Last edited:
L