Roseville Engineer story pt.2

Jimmy Beans

Bad Order Hoghead
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
www.youtube.com
I said "hey listen here, I know you don't see this a lot but" He then interrupted me and said "I see it plenty, don't worry about it get back in there" I then said "well I'm an engineer for this very same railroad, this very same yard." He got a real wide eyed look and seemed speechless. I said "I've met some nice folks up there and I'm tired of working my ass off for this outfit 24/7 on call 364 days a year. I wanna taste a little freedom so I'm headed out of here with those tramps up there and I'd really appreciate it if you could kick this under the rug" He said he wouldn't say a thing and to be safe and enjoy the trip. I felt alright with that, hopped back up in the boxcar and waited with my friends. The carmen eventually left and within about 20 minutes I heard a sound I knew had to be the brakes releasing.

I felt some slack action then I heard an unfamiliar sound but I always knew it had to happen and I'd heard the opposite sound so many times before. It was the slack locking up and stretching the cars from the locomotive on back through the train BANG BANG BANG BANG BANG and we were jerked pretty hard and instantly a smooth 3 miles an hour, 4, 5 slowly creeping up in speed we might have been about 8 miles an hour and we crossed a familiar crossing in the yard and I knew it well. I knew that Linda Pitchford was in there barking orders, I knew the yardmaster was in there as well. I could see the image of all the yard surveillance camera monitors in that same room from my memory and I didn't like how it felt one bit.