Plywood living | Squat the Planet

Plywood living

timetoleave

Reaction score
Hi there. I was a carpenter for awhile before I decided to fuck off and hit the road. Being a carpenter in a former life is great. Framing hammers are great improvised weapons and you don't get hassled much by the cops. It's a tool officer.

But that's not what this is about.

As a vagabond I like to travel about but if I know I am going to be in a place for awhile and the conditions are right (more on that in a second) I like to cobble together something semi-permanent because fuck sleeping in my car or in my tent for more than a week or two. I'm getting soft in my old age I guess.

So on to those conditions. First you need a spot where the cops won't bother you because they don't care or because there are no cops. Second you need a source of building material. What you use will largely be dictated by what's available, but sometimes fate smiles and you find a treasure trove of scrap. Construction sites are great for this. The second factor is your environment. If you are in an area prone to extreme heat or cold you will need to factor that into your shack during construction.

Now a quick tutorial on R Values. R Values rate the resistance of heat flow from one side to another. For instance, a 1/2 piece of plywood has an R Value of 0.62. Insulation you buy at Home Depot or Lowes can range from 5.50 to 19.20 or higher. Effects are cumulative. You add more air pockets and building material, you insulate better. And that's the key. Trapping air. Now most of us I reckon aren't going to go buy rolls of insulation for a shack that might be standing for a month at most. But plywood (0.62 - 1.25) and cinder blocks (2.3-2.6) are readily available for the resourceful scrapper. Couple that with a sleeping back and proper positioning (find a natural wind break or shade such as a cliff face, sand dune or building) and you can drastically reduce your exposure to the elements.