Planning to hit the road soonish.

Duncan

Reaction score
Heyo, My name is Duncan and I have wanted to head out and travel for awhile now. I've got a bit of money saved up and am in the process of acquiring my own street bicycle. Gonna equip it with some touring gear and do a few test trips to the Oregon coast to see what I'd really like to bring. I'd like to meet new people and experience different cities, states, countries, continents and planets (if able :p). I'll probably be lurking around here and other sites for the next month or two while I prep myself to hit the road for what 6 months or a year. Haven't decided which but I'm going to make it mandatory I stay out that long so as to make it through the rough spots. Look forward to getting to know you!

Duncan

Reaction score
I was an exchange student to Iceland for my senior year of high school and have been to a few different countries but I haven't traveled on my own or in this manner before. Like you though I'm always stoked to meet new people. One of my favorite things to do is to find people who've been tramping around and talk to 'em about their travels and wander around the city with 'em for awhile. I find it easier to relate to people in a certain mindset. I know I can relate to most people in some way but it can be hard to put it into practice. People have many sides to them and many states of mind they can be in. So it's not always quick or easy to find what parts of your personality either match or compliment the other persons.

I've really wanted to travel the states for a long time now. I like the idea of traveling on a bicycle because of the autonomy it provides not having to depend on catching a ride and still being free of a car. I can bring a little bit more without it weighing me down too bad. I also look forward to the solitude as well. I've got a few books I'm gonna bring and am thinkin' on bringing a small guitar or banjo for busking.