[oh der schweiz] - Greetings from Switzerland

R

Roosterruler

Hoi und liebi grüsse from Switzerland.

I first found myself discontent with the conforming life plan society had laid out for me when I was 16 in high school. I was a sophomore, doing full IB classes (honours) and realized that all of this was work to get to a good college, and after that, some office job.

I didn't need to learn any more by the books, it was life experience I was after. So, I signed up for an exchange year in Europe. I got accepted and lived my first year abroad without seeing any family or friends.

I got back from my mini-adventure at the age of 17. I finished up high school and chose not to go to college (although I am doing a course online through the community college, brain stimulation is comfortable). I found a family in Europe, Switzerland to be precise, that would pay for my plane ticket, room, board, and a salary if I just take care of their kid after school.

And that is where I am now, Switzerland.

I'll be headed back to the USA soon and am ready to collect a new experience. Not sure what, but this forum seems to be a superior resource.

The idea of going to a 4-year college, or getting stuck to a job, it just doesn't appeal to me. I don't mind working, no problem with service, but to have my freedom to travel taken away just for money... no thanks. Later on, maybe I'll get a degree to keep doors from closing but for now...

What I am not? Some punk-new-agey-alternative-wanna-have-an-adventure-without-being-prepared kid.

I did a project on hobos when I was in 8th grade. I started emailing with some older ones, who, sadly, had to retire from the rails. Anyways, that got me intrested. I can picture myself having that traveling lifestyle later on.