New older guy...

philoguy

Reaction score
Howdo,

I'm new to hitching/hopping but I'm old it seems compared to most here. It's something I always wanted to do. Went to school for philosophy and got lost in the rat race.

I'm dead serious about heading out for a few years so anyone interested in hooking up (not what you think), feel free to email me at philoguy73@gmail.com. When I was in college a buddy of mine and I planned a whole trip out...never worked out - he got married and became a stock broker.

I'm 37, male, not a punk and most certainly not a kid but I want to follow the kerouac model for a couple years. I'm not a hippie either. I think it's best to be honest. I'd prefer to hook up/spend some time traveling with others.

I smoke/drink and require anyone else to bathe regularly - I'm buying gear for myself including a two person tent. My thing is just traveling...I did a few hostels but now I want to hit the US.

Sorry for being so blunt but I think it's best to be upfront. I'm leaving from southern WV and going wherever.

Thanx.

Kalalau

Reaction score
honestly I'd not pack a tent.. and don't worry about the shower thing.. you'll be miserable if you're worrying about smelling fresh.. because you and your traveling companions wont(be smelling fresh). but you probably won't notice anyways.. and god damn if a shower and clean clothes don't feel damn good on your skin after unwittingly living in filth for a few weeks. I'd reccomend packing light.. but don't skimp on water. (EVER) you never know where you'll end up and for how long. a wool blanket is great if you don't mind freezing your ass off sometimes as it's light.... but a sleeping bag is bulky as hell, but you'll probably always be warm..if you're taking cash with you than play it by ear.. and keep in mind you can think about it forever, but it's not till you actually go do it that any of that you realize that all that thinking was a waste of mental energy... bon voyage

paddymelt

Reaction score