New guy based outta Jersey

TJXLH

Reaction score
Hey all! I'm TJ!

A little bit about me: Right now I'm based out of New Jersey. I'm 23, and I work as a carpenter for a theatre. I build the sets and whatnot. Its wonderful work, and I love it. The first few years of every scenic carpentry career involves a ton of moving around- I changed states every three to nine months for what felt like forever, and picked up work everywhere I could. Now, I've got a "stable" (if such a word can ever really describe a job in the arts) job that treats me pretty well, but I feel moss growing behind my ears. 'Real life' is getting boring, fast.

I picked up an old Harley-Davidson XLH a few years ago, and basically rebuilt the thing. Its just about at the point where I trust it on long trips. Its helped keep me sane. Its not terrible on gas, its fun to cruise around on, and itl take off like a fuckin rocket out of the hole if I ask it to.

I work on a contract. My contract runs out in April, and doesn't renew until August. That means I have most of the summer riding season without too much in the way of work or obligations. I was thinking of taking a long trip around the continental US, visiting all of the friends I've made through my professional travels. And then I thought to myself: What if instead of planning it like a vacation, with an itinerary and scheduled stops; I just kinda rode around for a couple months, found a way to keep gas in the tank, camped out wherever I could, played my banjo, and went to a bunch of punk shows?

And so I'm here.

Tude

Sometimes traveler is traveling.
Reaction score
Nice intro!!! Ex husband and ex boyfriend were in clubs with the HD's - lots of fun! That sounds like a great idea of traveling! We have a great crusty couch surfing forum here (I know cause I'm an upstate NY couchsurfing place) that you might want to take a look at for your travels. Have fun - and welcome aboard!

D

Deleted member 20