My First Time....help

B

bakerdoo

Ok ...so sorry to be a noob but i am planning a trip out to Seattle/Vancouver/Portland from Minneapolis. I am going mid-early may and want to hop a train. First problem, i have never done it before. I have been looking at BNSF maps a bit and dont fully understand how everything works. I am looking for Tips/Tricks/Warnings/Suggestions and anything else that will help. I will be traveling alone and hopefully with a folding bicycle that i am currently building (good idea or bad?) After Vancouver i am going to Juneau, AK and am planning on paying for a ferry out there...any suggestions on getting to Juneau?
Is this something i shouldn't do alone the first time?
How much time should i plan on the trip taking (i am sort of on a time schedule)
Thanks for being understanding ...everyone hops a train for the first time before they get into it

Doobie_D

The Slack Action Hero
Reaction score
you just never know sometimes. a couple days can turn into a couple weeks real quick wether you can help it or not. Just sayin i wouldnt bank on making it back at a certain point in time. Things happen sometimes. It took me 2 months to make it across Texas not too long ago. But generally you shouldnt have too much of a problem from Minne to Seattle. As its a busy line. And stacks gotta go to port sooner or later

Bendixontherails

Reaction score
I find that time has to not be a concern, or you'll go nuts with impatience. like Doob said, you really never know... I have made it all the way across my state (KY) in 2 days (east to west), and I did the same route two months later and it took almost three weeks. if you hit the wrong train, miss the one you need, get screwed with by a worker, get arrested, twist an ankle... anything CAN happen. not to be negative, but remember Murphy's Law.