Question large Dutch 'lowe alpine sting' rucksack safe to take in public?

waywardvagabond

Reaction score
I live in the USA. I recently came into possession of this dutch military surplus backpack (pictures attached). Its comfortable, not too long on my body, room for my gear, etc. The only downside is that it is not discreet at all because its so large and it looks very 'military'. Ive been camping and backpacking for a while but Im new to hobo-ing. I will mostly be using it in the woods but for the few times that i am in public, using public transportation, getting food, doing laundry, etc. I'm worried that it will attract a lot of unwanted attention. I would prefer to blend in, but i know its not possible if I'm using this pack. (i can take the side pockets off to make it smaller at the very least) is it a big deal if it does attract attention? I don't care if people give me weird looks (i'm also a teenager which makes it easier to get away with sticking out a little bit) I think if my goal is to dumpsterdive or do anything less legal i will stash it somewhere, and i usually don’t t camp too close to civilization. Im also not traveling cross-country Im staying in my state for now. My biggest worry is that the military style gear could make possible interactions with police more dangerous. Is there any way that i could avoid having attention drawn to me without having to get rid of the rucksack? is it even safe to bring this in public?

Attachments

• 9804.jpeg
    9804.jpeg
    32.5 KB · Views: 135

ali

Reaction score