Is this bus really worth that price?

kaichulita

soul rebel
Reaction score
You should ask how many miles are on that thing. I'm not a car expert, but that definitely factors into the price... I was looking around on google for how much that bus costs and I saw a couple people say they're around $2500-$3000. I'm not quite sure though.

Haley

Reaction score
You should ask how many miles are on that thing. I'm not a car expert, but that definitely factors into the price... I was looking around on google for how much that bus costs and I saw a couple people say they're around $2500-$3000. I'm not quite sure though.
There are 170k!

Matt Derrick

Retired Wanderer
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
youtube.com
hmmm... i guess it depends on specifically what you want to do with it. you say you want to convert it, but are you planning on putting a lot of miles on it? will you be traveling frequently? 170k of mileage is not extreme but a little high. also keep in mind that this is a gas engine, so you have at most around 130,000 miles before it's going to need an extensive rehauling of the engine (and possible total replacement) as these kinds of engines rarely last past 300k without serious problems.

i like the size, it's kinda in the middle without being a full size bus (which can be a pain to drive sometimes). what's the gas mileage? i'm going to guess it's around 10/mpg.

bottom line is if you're patient, you can definitely find a better deal. the thing to keep in mind here is that it's a 1987, which is pretty old. i assume that's why he spent so much money getting it up to spec. also, $9,000 seems a little high for the things he listed fixing, and out of those listed, ignore everything except for the suspension, tires, and fuel pump the rest is just padding (things that he's listing to make it sound better than it is).