Introducing me, myself and I

Mel of the Bronx

Reaction score
Hello, everyone. My friends call me Mel, but you can call me Mel. As you probably guessed, I'm from the Bronx, New York. I have lived in New York City from the first moment I drew breathe. I would be lying if I said that I have no affection for this crazy fuck of a city.

However, I have grown tired of the crowding, noise, busyness and cost of living that defines the only home I have ever known. I want to see less concrete and steel. I want to hear less honking and construction machines. I want to hear more nature sounds. I want to see more brown and green. I want to see more stars in the sky at night.

I recently turned 31 years of age. I work as a custodian, a job I find very unfulfilling and monotonous. My plan is to resign from my job and leave New York City once I receive my income tax return from the protection racket at the beginning of next year. I am seriously considering living as a nomadic backpacker once I leave, but I have some doubts. I would mainly subsist by hunting, foraging for wild plants, fishing, guerrilla gardening and scavenging. However, I would like to earn some money from time to time. I would pack a 3-person tent but I would like to stay in a permanent shelter a times. How do you guys earn money on the road and where do you stay for shelter?

Reactions: wizehop

Matt Derrick

Retired Wanderer
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
youtube.com
hey there, welcome to StP!

to answer some of your questions, most of my life I simply got a shitty (although sometimes not shitty) job somewhere and worked for 4-6 months saving money, then took off traveling for another 4-6 months. sometimes i'd spend longer working winters in new orleans, or whatever made sense. recently though, i've been trying to move into the tech field and do website administration (basically i make websites for people) which i can do from the road most of the time.