Question how many people who travel by hitchhiking get harassed by police

Nomad

Reaction score
I am curious as to how many people who travel by hitchhiking get harassed by police. I mean do they stop you and check yoy out often or only if your doing something illegal? I am getting ready to hitchhike to the west coast from Pennsylvania and have no ID as mine was stolen and I am a South dakota resident so until I pass through South dakota I have no ID and don't want police jnteractions.

• Best of Luck!
Reactions: Joey Garbanzo

TheUndeadPhoenix

The Necromancer King
Reaction score
Website
instagram.com
Some states have stop and identify laws but for the most part in my experience, they're not going to stop you unless you're beyond the no pedestrians sign or doing something else. If you're on a highway, especially one with a sidewalk, you should be fine, as long as they can't get you for something stupid and obvious like an open container. No pedestrian signs are usually only posted on interstates but that's not always the case. Just keep an eye out for them.

I had a cop run me off of an on ramp recently and I told him oh I didn't even see a sign anywhere, just walked up to the next exit on surface streets and didn't have a problem afterwards a anywhere else. He didn't even ask for my ID, seemed like they were busy catching speeders.

Know your rights and always ask if you're being detained, if they say no, ask if you're free to go and if they say yes, just take surface streets to the next exit. Also, be aware that Pennsylvania is one of 6 states that supposedly makes hitchhiking illegal but I've gone from Wilkes Barre to Harrisburg and back, never once had a cop say anything to me.

• Agree
Reactions: Coywolf and Nomad

Matt Derrick

Retired Wanderer
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
youtube.com