First aid kits on the road?

beau riley

Reaction score
I recently burned myself pretty badly while baking, and it brought a question to mind.
How would you take care of that sort of injury (or a similar open wound) while traveling? I bring a small first aid kit whenever I go hiking, but I know spending weeks on the road can be dangerous health-wise if you don't know what you're doing. Does anyone have any tips on the most important first-aid tools?

Reactions: Bibs

Bibs

Reaction score
I'm an RN by trade and in a best case scenario the following are what I would like to have on hand at all times. It comes up to around 6lbs of gear so quite a hearty load for medical supplies, but you can stabilize most common injuries with these. If you're looking for reading material on the subject I'd recommend "where there is no doctor/dentist" and "the boy scout manual on first aid and wilderness medicine" both are written with the assumption the reader has zero medical knowledge and as such are great for the aspiring barbersurgeon.

As far as treating lacerations goes, which is what I'm assuming you're asking about regarding "cuts". If you have absolutely nothing to work with: make a fire, burn wood until it's white ash, pack the wound with ashes until you can get proper treatment, ashes are sterile and will help absorb the blood and promote clotting. If you have sutures you can attempt to stitch it yourself, but that shit isn't like the movies and if you have a wound that needs stitching it's gonna hurt like a motherfucker. If you have absolutely nothing for pain sit on your arm until it goes numb or tourniquet it. It'll dull the pain enough to get the needle in, you'll need to stich at least a quarter inch down to get the flesh to bind.