Official Hello

clockwise5000

Reaction score
Website
travelinthrulife.wordpress.com
I think I've been on this site a year or two now but have never posted in the introductions. I've only read for advice and posted in attempt to meet someone to travel with. Well, here is my intro.

I started traveling the week I graduated high school because I knew I didn't want to go to college, or at least not what I wanted to study. The plan was to walk to California. My 2 buddies bailed, I walked 100 miles into Indiana before accepting a ride from somebody. I then tried hitching and got from the Michigan/Indiana border, to St. Louis, in 2 days. I felt fortunate to find the metro close to where I got dropped off in East St. Louis.

I discovered the Katy trail, which almost spans MO from East-West, and began walking that. After about a week of walking, a guy gave me a bike and a trailer. I biked into Kansas and started the Flint Hills trail before it dead ended...

Bummed, I was pushed to move on along a 65mph road. Terrified, I kept pushing. The next town was 25 miles away. I realized I had a flat on my trailer tire... 2 flats... The fuck? My bicycle tires, too? Fuck! Thorns! I began crying. I felt defeated. I had no tools to fix this machine and probably wouldn't even know how. At 65mph I had no hope for anyone to stop. Not in Kansas.

Somebody, without solicitation, stopped to see what was up. We loaded the bike in the truck and went to a WalMart (to fix the tires). Though, I decided I'd rather hitch hike.

I read that hitching in Lawrence KS is illegal, and was too much of a novice to even try. I just felt so much resistance for the first time in my travels.. I bought a grey hound ticket back to Michigan. Well, funny story.