Noob Canadian hopper starting next week | Squat the Planet

Noob Canadian hopper starting next week

Pogg

Reaction score
Greetings to the stp community. Just another noob here starting out my journey in strange times. I have been lurking this forum and others for a while and finally decided to get involved. Next week, I will be starting my first hopping adventure. Hopefully, I will be able to make it to Vancouver and then back to Toronto (my home city) before the winter comes. I have no clue what I'm getting into, other than from what I've gathered from reading various threads. I read the hopping safety thread from here a while back and don't remember too much. Maybe if you care enough to save me some pain, give me some tips for my first time. If not, I will report back under the condition that I make it out alive. Best regards!

Tekamthi

Reaction score
mid-october is not a great time to start this hobby for the first time -- that said, if you're comfortable living outside and have some experience in managing sub-freezing temps overnight, it won't be so bad. If not, I'd only do it with a plan to bail out mid-trip (ie enough money for a plane ticket home)

14-day forecasts can change drastically, even if right now they're saying they'll be above zero, don't count on this lasting. You should expect to spend 24 hours+ on the same train if crossing canada, maybe even 48 -- to do this, you'll need a good amount of water with you; how will you keep it from freezing if temps aren't what you're expecting? If you have a good answer to this question, then i wouldn't worry too much, you'll probably be able to figure out the rest

catching out from Toronto itself is not altogether impossible, but if you've watched any of the common youtube content covering this voyage, you'll notice that most skip the GTA entirely, and probably for good reason.