New to RV living! Any tips?

dumpsterjumper

Reaction score
Website
www.instagram.com
My partner just bought an 89 ford flair RV. She runs great, if a little rough around the edges on the inside. Our plan is to do some repairs and fix up the inside and be on the road within a few months. We will be full time, staying in the PNW area. I've squatted and done some vanlife and couchsurfing and travelling before, but im new to being responsible for a big rig like we have now. Any advice for a newbie RV lifer?

• Best of Luck!
Reactions: marymemarryme

MichelleA66

Burrito fund contributor
StP Supporter
Reaction score
I've lived in a 1995 Gulfstream Sunsport (Ford 460 7.5L engine on an F53 chassis) for the last 11 years. You'll learn the quirks of your rig as you go. You'll save a ton of money if you can repair your own rig. Accumulate tools to do so. Use forums to research engine troubles cuz you will have them. It's inevitable. Check your tires before every trip. When your toilet burps, it's time to empty. Keep your house batteries charged. When remodeling, consider weight placement and use lightweight materials as much as possible. Man, there's a shit ton to learn but again, you'll learn as you go. I'm not a mechanic but I can probably diagnose others' vehicle issues due to the many problems experienced over the years. It's a very cost effective way to live if you do it right. You've already got experience with finding free spots I'm guessing as a rubber tramper. Best of luck. Hope you enjoy your new home 🍀

Groundscore

Reaction score
Check for leaks NOW -- find them BEFORE a rainstorm in the middle of a cold night!

Buy a set of jumper cables; you'll thank me the first time you use them!

Get a basic set of tools, better quality is best. The more you can repair the more money you will keep in your pocket later.