Intro! (I should have written a year ago) | Squat the Planet

Intro! (I should have written a year ago)

mysicksadartworld

Reaction score
Hey everyone!
I created an account here almost a year ago and have mostly just popped in periodically. I never wrote an intro because I tend to overthink everything I write/say so apologies if I ramble. I’m a 23-year-old queer artist and an enjoyer of nature and punk music. As for pronouns, I’m cool with any but have a preference towards they/them. I mostly identify as non-binary, but I believe the concepts of gender and gender identity are rooted in gender norms and should just be abolished entirely. I would loosely describe myself as a green anarchist. I’m passionate about protecting nature (what’s left of it) and the rights of the human and animal inhabitants of the land, so I’m always down to help with mutual aid and direct action. As for hobbies, I enjoy working with clay, sewing, swimming, urban exploration and playing video games. I’ve also been interested in train hopping for a while but have yet to experience that since I’d rather go with someone who knows their shit, or not at all.

I’ve been researching living in a car extensively for years and grew up living semi-nomadically. I had originally planned on getting a van and travelling in 2020 but you can probably guess how that panned out. I finally got my driver’s license and the funds to make it happen and then… I met someone and fell in love. I am currently insanely conflicted between staying and compromising on my plan to leave in order to stay with this person I love or ending the short 3-month-long relationship and doing what I planned for years alone. I feel that I’ve essentially strung them along for 3 months just to say, “bye! you don’t fit into the way I want to live!” And I just wish I had had the insight 3 months ago to know this would keep coming up as an issue.