Im about to buy an RV | Squat the Planet

Im about to buy an RV

Jimmy Beans

Bad Order Hoghead
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
www.youtube.com
My only advice would be to include some details so we can actually give advice. Year, make, model, condition, history, your needs, your concerns, etc.

• Useful
Reactions: Juan Derlust

brando

travelling through time and space
Reaction score
Everything seems to work fine but I'm not a mechanic at all. Does anyone have any advise before I buy it?
What make/model? I owned a 1980 Toyota Huntsman that was my trusty dusty for over 2 years. There's a lot to think about with RVs, especially depending on how the camper portion was constructed.

It was of the old style RV construction (1x3's, foam board insulation and aluminum exterior sheeting), as opposed to the more modern fiberglass bodies with aluminum framing you see now.

The Huntsman was prone to leaks, so I had to be pretty vigilant about inspecting the seems and climbing around on the roof sealing them. When I bought it, the roof had been leaking and though everything seemed sound, a few months down the road I hit a good pothole and almost collapsed the cab over bed area down onto the windshield. All the wood had been saturated in that area and rotted to dust.

Luckily I was close to home and was able to park it for two weeks and totally gut that portion and reframe it. A good friend who's a roofer hooked me up with some awesome products to coat everything with.

All in all it was mechanically the best vehicle I've ever owned. It had the kick-ass R20 engine that Toyota built it's name on in the 70s. But I almost certainly wouldn't buy another RV of that era. Just try to go over that baby with a fine tooth comb before you commit.

• Epic
Reactions: Juan Derlust

WyldLyfe

I'm a d-bag and got banned.
Banned
Reaction score