Hello, the name’s Miles. | Squat the Planet

Hello, the name’s Miles.

ErrantPigeon

Reaction score
Hello y’all! The name’s Miles. People who only know me from my tattooing call me Art (business pseudonym). I am a professional tattooist and life long artist with all the desire to travel and only an inkling of an idea how to make that happen. So I’m glad to be here, and glad this site exists.

I’ve been interested in the lives of travelers since I met one in college, who shared some stories and introduced me to the idea of freight hopping. I didn’t think I’d one day be interested in traveling myself, until I read Into The Wild, Pigeon Life (zine), and Evasion. I met other travelers, one of whom had biked across the country and taught me how to dumpster dive. I considered a bike tour for a time, passing my boring-ass days as a shipping coordinator for a foot-spa factory by daydreaming about traveling. That is, until I got an apprenticeship at a tattoo shop. Four years and one completed apprenticeship later and I’m still thinking about traveling.

Tattooing has opened many doors for me, including getting top surgery (I’m non-binary trans) which ended up being a mistake. Planning to write a zine about my experiences with that. Hoping to maybe write other zines in the future, and possibly a graphic novel that’s been floating around my brain for a while. But definitely want to be able to tattoo my own artwork on people, not just their ideas rendered to their liking. Hoping to be traveling to and working at tattoo conventions soon.