You got shoe-making tips?

F

frankie b sick

So I am planning to make myself a pair of split-toe shoes with an old leather jacket. I was wondering if anyone has any suggestions in making shoes as I have never done this before.
I know I can use tire for the soles. Anything else you guys know of that works? I am only going to put this on the parts of the bottom of the shoes that will make contact with the ground.
I am planning to just use leather, some water-proof fabric for the soles to line them with and perhaps some wool(after "water-proofing" it via one hour in the dryer than into freezing cold water.

Any tips would be RAD!! ^<>^

Thanks!

-Sarah Christina

bananathrash

Reaction score
Car tires have a cable weave and would cut up your feet pretty bad. I think that trailer tires and motorcycle tires dont have the same weave, though I could be wrong. I used the tubes for motorcycle tires to patch my shoes but I dont think they are thick enough for a sole. at one point I was going to use traffic cones for a sole, but scored a friends old shoes.

For heavy sewing I was going to use cable, like they use in braided bike locks, only much smaller.

Thats about all the tips, or lack of, that i have.

there is also a tutorial on crimthinc. sites down though.

Bendixontherails

Reaction score