Wilderness Nomads

C

Cavemansailor

Im looking to find or form a small group of nomadic foragers in a remote wilderness area.

I worked as an archaeological instructor for 7 years specializing in primitive technology and subsistence strategies of hunter gatherers.

I spent the past 6 months working as a commercial fisherman, and also spent several years trapping and hunting for the majority of my food and income.

I would love to contribute my skillset to an existing group if any such groups exist.

I am looking for a group that is nomadic in a NFS wilderness area and obtains all or most resources and food from hunting and foraging.

I am not looking for a commune, farm, fixed retreat, or other form of sedentary living on private land.

If anyone is seriously attempting this and could use a guy like me, let me know!

C

Cavemansailor

Back in San Antonio. If I get some promising responses in the next few days, Im willing and ready to travel anywhere in the US that is wild and vast enough to thrive.

Tude

Sometimes traveler is traveling.
Reaction score
With your background - you sound most interesting to hit the wilderness with! Hope you get a lot of interested people and make it happen!

C

Cavemansailor

The national forests just north of LA reminded me of Central Texas (only all the land in central TX is privately owned....it sucks). Looked liked they could be rich in resources, but I was just passing through. If anyone has spent time there, I'ld love to hear about experiences with foraging there. Kinda have my heart set on New Mexico, but like I said, I'm open to suggestions!

AnarchyorDie

Reaction score
I've never been to northern New Mexico. I'm interested in this nomadic wilderness adventure. I've got some experience trapping. I can spend all day on a river,fishing with nothing but a nibble or 2 to keep me interested. Actually I spent a month this summer in kings canyon CA, fishing and trapping. I wasn't completely reliant on the land tho.

ThatDrunkGuy