what to do when all your plans go to shit?

Matt Derrick

Retired Wanderer
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
youtube.com
okay, so as some of you know, i've been making plans for the past several months to go to a computer programming school in portland. my plan was to attend these classes until the end of the year, then work for most of 2015 saving up money for everything i needed for the stp youtube project i've been working on. the plan also had the added benefit of giving me a broader skill set to use so that i could work for myself as a freelance programmer, thus being able to further finance my future travels.

well, all that came crashing down the other day when i got an email from the school saying they were increasing the cost of the deposit by $500 (from $1,000 to $1,500) and switching from doing their own financing (payment plans) to having a financial loan company do it for them. meaning that this big loan company was going to have to put me through a credit check that there was no way in hell i was going to pass, due to my terrible credit.

now keep in mind i got this email thirteen days before classes start. the phrase complete and utter bullshit doesn't really seem to do it justice. i've had several meetings with them, attending some pre-classes, and every step of the way (over the past FOUR MONTHS) I'd been told that I'd be able to make payments to them (not a loan company), and reassured that they'd work with me and that the prices weren't going to change, but in the end they changed pretty much everything they told me right before classes begin. who the fuck does that?

So, no school, cause I can't afford it.