What constitutes a "good town"? | Squat the Planet

What constitutes a "good town"?

Vulture

Reaction score
So I have been on the road for a little over a month. It is my first time at it. I don't really know what people mean by good and bad towns. Is it just people's experiences? Or what? I hated Amarillo. That's because it's all ghetto and has strict enforcement on anti-flying-of-signs. Plus I spent a night in jail. But besides the negative, I don't know what to look for in a town. What do you look for in a town? What is a "good town"?

Wawa

Reaction score
Website
www.etsy.com
Stuff that turns me onto a town:

Public spaces. They don't even have to be nice.... I mean, full of shit and trashed isn't good, but otherwise rundown parks and open spaces are nice hangouts, and sometimes more chill then better maintained parks.

Activity! Movement! Some kinda sense of people out and about, enjoying their day makes me happy. It's too easy to fall into thinking of "everyone else" as a homogenous brainwashed blob... then I get all broody and cynical... so it's nice to be somewhere were people just feel more interesting and relateable. Missoula comes to mind. Tourists are also cool because they buy stuff from me and leave their leftovers all over the place.

I'm a fucking foody, so... good food. Big organic store. I'll buy a snack and hang out inside on the wifi all day, then raid the dumpsters at night.

Some kind of wifi/shitter headquarters, with sofas and tolerant employees, if the above doesn't exist.

Better be some homebums. This is america. America has homeless people. If I'm in anything but a tiny village, and there are no homeless people, the place probably has some evil shit going on.

Trainyard. Or at least tracks. Not just because I'm into trains, but also that. Usually got good places to sleep near train tracks. Shit, even if I'm not trying to ride it's nice to at least hear trains.

Reasonable public transportation. Fuck you, Sacramento.