total newb, basic squatting info wanted

rpc0618

Reaction score
Heyy what's up,

I'm moving out of an apartment in Utica, NY and was curious about the whole squatting scene and all that. I'll most likely end up getting the cheapest apartment i can find and pay for with grant money (going to college there now) since it's probably just barely doable financially...

Anyway, just in case...

How do I get to know where people squat?

Is it better or safer to find a place on my own or find someone else to "room" with?

What's the difference between squatting and trespassing?

How would one do this without "Breaking and Entering"- and what constitutes that in the first place?

There are a lot of abandoned buildings and parking lots where others used to be in this town, and also some neighborhoods I don't feel comfortable going just cause I'm super pale an frail. But this also makes me think the potential is high for squatting around here.

Thanks,

rpc

ByronMc

Reaction score
Website
www.facebook.com
Heyy what's up,

I'm moving out of an apartment in Utica, NY and was curious about the whole squatting scene and all that. I'll most likely end up getting the cheapest apartment i can find and pay for with grant money (going to college there now) since it's probably just barely doable financially...

Anyway, just in case...

How do I get to know where people squat?

Is it better or safer to find a place on my own or find someone else to "room" with?

What's the difference between squatting and trespassing?

How would one do this without "Breaking and Entering"- and what constitutes that in the first place?

There are a lot of abandoned buildings and parking lots where others used to be in this town, and also some neighborhoods I don't feel comfortable going just cause I'm super pale an frail. But this also makes me think the potential is high for squatting around here.

Thanks,

rpc