Sleeping bags

Johnny

Reaction score
I've been looking for a small sleeping bag, and I dont think there is such a thing. I picked up a regular sized bag, my friend said it was the smallest one he'd ever seen, but the thing isnt going to fit in my pack. I figure I'll just strap the thing on there. Is there a preferred method anyone has had an easy time with? Any info is appreciated, its my first time on the road.

Blacknose

Reaction score
In sleeping bags small = pricey+fragile

If by small you mean short i think some brands do make shorter bags but seeing how you have one now, in the cold season you should tie off/invert or in any way shorten the bag if its to long for you as you would otherwise have to heat up all that extra space and the bag will not be as warm as it could be ! ..

as to strapping it to your bag , if it's in a good stuff sack you could strap it to the bottom of your pack , does your pack have any points you can attach it to ? If the pack has a hood you could try fitting it under there aswell ..

Vonuist

Reaction score
Website
trashwiki.org
Have you thought of just getting a compression bag for your existing sleeping bag?

Reactions: claymation

xACABx

Reaction score
Mummy bags that are filled with synthetic materials are usually more light weight easily compressed. You can invest in a compression sack as well. They work wonders for making them smaller.

Reactions: claymation

dharma bum

anarcho-transcendentalist
Reaction score
the down sleeping bags are lighter and more compact, but they can't retain their heat if it gets wet. the synthetic filled bags DO retain their warmth when wet.

. . .just something to think about.

Reactions: RVLG and claymation
Reaction score