Should I bring my iPhone?

evagreene

Reaction score
I've never traveled before, but I'm about to set off on my first trip. I've pretty much got my bag packed and everything set...except my iPhone.

I've read from a lot of you that it's a good idea to have a GPS (and since it's my first time, I'd like to know where the fuck I am). It'd be nice to have internet with me instead of walking to the local library, bookstore, etc. I'm just worried about possible water damage, being slammed around, things like that. I'd like to know from you experienced StP people, should I just get a cheap pre-paid phone so I don't have to worry and just use a map, or do you think my phone would be okay? I've seen lots of travelers with netbooks and cameras, so I wasn't sure.

(This seemed like such an obvious question that when I searched the forums and found NOTHING, I was really suprised...So, if skipped past the thread about it, I'm sorry!)

MrD

Internet SuperHero
Reaction score
Website
www.sometimesmotion.com
Yeah an iPhone would be useful in many situations, but it kinda comes down to this:
How careful are you going to be with your shit?
And
How bad will it sting if you loose/break it?

I have traveled with some quite fragile things, and have safe-guarded it with my life, but that is just me.

No one can give you a yes/no answer
That is something that you NEED to figure out for yourself, and learn what works for you

Just remember, nothing is guaranteed safe

anywhere_but_here

Reaction score
just sell it and get train intoxicants. unless you really need to know where the nearest 4 star restaurant is or if you just have an overwhelming urge to play brick attack. it's just something else to lose, get stolen, or break. if you really need a fone 20 dollar burn phones are the way to go

dirtyfacedan

Reaction score
If I was going to bring any gear like that, I would use a Pelican case. You can get them in various sizes, and for just about anything. Pelican

DCLXVI

Reaction score