Shining up boots? | Squat the Planet

Shining up boots?

Traveler

Reaction score
So I've got a nice pair of timberlands, red leather. I want to polish them up, not so much for the shine but to protect the leather and keep them waterproof. What's the best option? I've got a lot of experience polishing combats but never a work style boot. Do they make a good "red" polish or should I go with clear?

landpirate

campervan untilising nomadic traveller
Reaction score
I've got red leather boots and I use dubbin on them as I have never managed to find a coloured polish that matches, either too brown or bright red. The dubbin seems work well though keeping them flexible and also waterproof.

Just looked up the brand I use its called Woly.

Reactions: Traveler

CaptainCassius

Reaction score
There's a few different things you can use for waterproofing boots, I won't list them all but these are my tried and true favorites:
1. SNO-SEAL
2. Doc-Martens wonder balsam
3. Dubbin

Sno-Seal is the best thing for waterproofing leather I have ever used but you have to apply it while the boots are hot which makes it somewhat difficult (unless you can lightly roast them over a hot bed of coals) its hard to find in certain places, and you still have to oil and polish regularly with other products if you want to keep 'em shiny.

Here's my method

SNO-SEAL
Saddle Soap
Dubbin/Mink Oil/Doc Martens WB etc.
Polish (optional)

the SNO-SEAL last a while before you need to do it again, about 6 months. so continue to do the other steps on a monthly or bi-weekly basis or whatever floats your boat.

P.S. You're never gonna find a good red polish and clear usually takes off color rather than just actually being clear over color. just use black shoe polish and it will give them a nice OxBlood Red color.

• Useful
Reactions: MolotovMocktail

Odin

ANTISOLIPSIST
Reaction score
Website
www.youtube.com

Traveler

Reaction score