Safety Tips and advice for Hitchhiking and talking to your loved ones about hitchhiking | Squat the Planet

Safety Tips and advice for Hitchhiking and talking to your loved ones about hitchhiking

FishYouWereHere

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm a 23 year old female from Canada, and I will be hitchhiking with my male partner (who is experienced with hitchhiking) out to the west coast this summer.

It's my first time hitchhiking and unfortunately I thought my family was strong enough to hear about my plans, but my parents are having a really hard time with the idea, to the point where I probably should have lied to them about the whole thing. It's too late now, and they're extremely upset at the idea... I am not traveling until the summer and they are having trouble sleeping already... and I was wondering if anyone had any advice for talking to their loved ones about hitchhiking, and if you had any tips on how to be safe that I can use for myself and also share with my family?

If you could share your own stories or any advice I'd be grateful,

Thanks

-J

CrisM

Reaction score
Ah, I'm experiencing this same problem. I mentioned my plans to family only to see the horror on their faces. And of course I made mention of it while they were watching the news and many of them are under the impression that if you step out your door alone at night, you're going to get shot and robbed. After their reaction, I made up a false compromise. I told them that I will not hitchhike, but rather save up money and take buses along the west coast and stay at state parks along the way. This sounds much safer and if it's going to help them sleep at night and allow you to do what you want to do without knowing they are worried when you're gone, then I see no problem with it.