Picking a short term spot. (1-3 Days) | Squat the Planet

Picking a short term spot. (1-3 Days)

A

Arapala

As some of you may know, i am a total travel noob. At least i have no REAL LIFE travel experience. I am going to start going on little trips by myself just with my bike. I am going to need to find wooded areas to sleep at for a night or two possibly. Any tips? as far as staying away from ground dew, slugs, and shit like that? Any tips at in really.

Thanks.

Angela

Wandering But Not Lost Yet
Reaction score
Portable travel hammocks work great for staying out of the slugs and ground dew or just a plain old sleeping pad usually works just fine both of which you can find discussions of in some of the old gear threads.

finn

Playground Monitor
Reaction score
Since you have no REAL LIFE experience, let me tell you that wooded areas have trees. Some of the trees may be dead or have dead branches in them. Avoid them.

614 crust

Ex-Moderator / Elitist asshole
Reaction score
Website
feralkidscreations.com
4013-a.jpg

4014-a.jpg

4016-a.gif

Play.It.Fast

Reaction score
Tarps do tend to collect dew, and get moist.
Like 'Finn' said watch out for snags, and widowmakers.
Slugs, Spiders, Mosquitos, All insects for that matter are pretty much unavoidable.
Unless you burrito yourself up, or have a lightweight tent.

wartomods

Reaction score
Stewart when you are travelling i advise you to not sleep more than on night at the same spot.

wildboy860

CrustyhoboHippycore
StP Supporter
Reaction score
one big word of advice.... make sure no one can see you especially while your sleeping

Dirty Rig

Reaction score
Tip #1: Just because it looks secluded and inconspicuous in the dark does NOT necessarily mean the same in the daytime. Lots of rude awakenings in a spot that looked a lot cushier, warmer, and darker when I was drunk.