Peaceful Valley Walker

pcflvly

Reaction score
Website
ello.co
Welcome home, that's what we say in my tribe and just looking around here, this is my tribe.

I'm an old traveler. I hit the road when I was 15, back in 81. Over the next five or six years, I hitched to 48 states and nine provinces of Canada. Full time on the road freegan style. I never flew a sign or asked for anything but rather learned how to open up to the many blessings. Gratitude is my greatest ally.

I rubber tramped after that, starting out in a 53 Chevy, two ton dump truck. All together I spent ten years on the road. I was a mountain man after that. I grew most of my own food, worked seasonally planting trees, and had a couple kids up there on the mountain.

A nomad, a mountain man, then a scholar. I have a couple degrees. It's all BS knowledge but the pursuit of it made me smarter. I'll never use it for a career...

I'm still raising my youngest child but will be free come spring when she graduates. She let me spread my wings this year already and I made four hitchhiking trips, three big bicycle tours totalling a thousand miles, and several cross country road trips. The world is still as magic as ever.

2016 is my year. I'm parting with my possessions, minimizing to almost nothing, and hitting the road on my bicycle (with my dog). My goal is South America. I don't have my shit together yet. I have a lot of artwork and need a good photographer to help me make prints. I'd also like to find a writer to help me with making an ebook. I'll sell prints of the art and give the ebook to those who donate.

Anyway, it's a pleasure to meet you all. My profile picture is from a hitchhike across Nebraska in 84. That's my soul, long-haired and in the wind.

Matt Derrick

Retired Wanderer
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
youtube.com