Newbie here....finally made the decision to travel.

Reaction score
I've been creepin on this site for about a year now, but I'm finally ready to start prepping to make moves. I'm a 23 year old female from Long Island, New York. I have just graduated college this past spring and am in search of adventure and stepping out of my comfort zone before I continue on to graduate school, or whatever the heck it is I end up doing (haven't thought that far ahead yet). I have grown up in a very unhealthy, mentally, and physically abusive sheltered household with my mother. I met my now ex boyfriend who is a traveler who showed me what the lifestyle is about, and then met even more traveling friends this summer at a few music festivals I went to. I am not growing here. My existence has been so sheltered that I am stagnant. It's so comfortable and protected here that I feel like I haven't seen the true extent of what life has to offer me. I am also in search of spiritual growth.

I am terrified but I am ready to be beaten down and lifted up by the difficulties of the road. I don't have it set in stone as to how I will be getting around, but I am thinking I will most likely be rubbertramping in my honda civic. I have many friends and connections around the country to see. The goal is to go for about a year. I am ready to embark on this journey alone if need be, because I want to see if I can be alone. I want to truly be able to see if I like myself. And if I don't I can see clearly what needs to be worked on.

There's a lot of reasons in my mind as to what I am looking for, and even more unanswered questions as to what I am looking for. Sorry if I am coming off a bit confused. I just know this is where my heart is calling me.

Reaction score
Good luck! I rubbertramped by myself with my dog in a Subaru for 6 months last year, and finally learned to really love and rely on myself. I hope the same for you! Feel free to message me any questions or if you want advice