Modifying Sleeping Bags? | Squat the Planet

Modifying Sleeping Bags?

ianfernite

Reaction score
Website
www.facebook.com
Has anyone tried this before?
I have a 0 degree bag that is a bit too big and heavy to be carrying around constantly, and I doubt I'll be voluntarily going to any place where it gets that cold.

I want to cut and sew it a bit to make it smaller and lighter. I know that will greatly compromise its warmth.

I haven't been able to find anything online about resizing a sleeping bag; I guess it's just not often done. I'm broke, so buying a small one is out of the question. So, has anyone resized theirs? Are there any tricks or techniques to it?

Reactions: Mankini

wartomods

Reaction score
if you have access to a sewing machince you could cut it to your like on the bottom, then make a fold on the bottom and sew along it various times, but i dont really know if it worths the effort, cause it only makes difference is your sleep bag is really too big to you

stove

Reaction score
I've done a bit of modifying, as well as making my own quilts (think sleeping bag w/out zipper, easier to clean/get in out of quickly). A good sewing machine and knowledge of how to use it are EXTREMELY helpful, but not actually required. if you simply want to lighten it, reduce bulk, and reduce the temperature rating, you don't want to remove outside material, you want to remove the internal filling (Loft). If you know what the lofting is made out of, you can look online and actually see how much would be required (approx) for a given temperature rating.

If you can give a bit more info on the bag, I can probably walk you through modifying it. Look online at different baffle configurations, and determine what yours is (continuous baffles are the easiest to 'drain'). After that, it's a matter of making a small cut in each baffle, removing some loft, making sure the rest of the loft is evenly distributed, and closing the hole you've made.

• Useful
Reactions: MJhitcher