Longboard Tour! (1 Viewer)

A

Androgynightmare

I deleted myself
Hai!

I'm gonna be catching out for a national longboard solo tour of the South/South-West in late February.

Anyone have any experience or suggestions?

My plan is to use Rails-To-Trails and whatnot where possible, and roads the rest of the way.
I'll be regularly stopping in towns every few days to spange & gather food.
I plan to only hitch when nessicary.
My pack will be relatively light, so not a huge weight issue.

I'd love to hear any recommendations you've got!

Thanks!

Click here to buy the Anarchist's Guide to Travel!
OP
A

Androgynightmare

I deleted myself
Unrelated, how long have you been long boarding? I've seen some of those boards go pretty freaking far with little effort so it seems like a good way to go cross country.
I've been skating for a couple years.
I average 20+ miles a day just out of boredom, so crossing the country would be more of a lifestyle change than a distance change.

OP
A

Androgynightmare

I deleted myself
Out of curiosity, what's your gear list like? And what board you taking with you?
Just basic shit. Honestly.
"Bare necessities" and whatnot.
I've got one of the Longboards by Penny Board. Nothing to brag about, but I would actually trust it to the ends of the earth.

CelticWanderer

Pilgrim
Hometown
Augusta GA, USA
Be sure to practice stand up slides and shutdown slides with your pack on. It can save your ass from having to bail with a pack on. If you can I'd go for a drop down deck. It'll save yer legs. And look into the YouTube series long treks on skate decks for getting you stoked as fuck about yer journey :D

Kal

Pilgrim
Hometown
Everywhere
Be sure to practice stand up slides and shutdown slides with your pack on. It can save your ass from having to bail with a pack on. If you can I'd go for a drop down deck. It'll save yer legs. And look into the YouTube series long treks on skate decks for getting you stoked as fuck about yer journey :D