Leaving PA in the dust, finally ready to travel for the first time.

Lena

Reaction score
This is my first time posting, although long overdue as I've lurked here for quite some time. I figured, now is the time to introduce myself, and seek advice as I'm only three weeks away from leaving Pennsylvania to travel for the first time.

Allow me to begin with a little background...
I dropped out of art school a little over a year ago after coming to the realization that I simply wasn't getting what I wanted - not only my education, but from life in general. I felt stagnant, signing my life away to thousands of dollars worth of debt to a school that I didn't appreciate or enjoy. All the while I was living and working (slaving, I feel is a better term) in a town that catered to the rich and brainless, people who I saw as having a world of possibilities available to them because of their wealth, and yet they chose to waste it on wine, shitty music, and soulless artwork. The town I'm talking about is Lancaster, PA, a mecha for hipster socialites, "coffee shop revolutionaries" who flaunt their 'activism' and 'appreciation' for art and culture infinitely more than any impact they could ever make on the world. I blame this town for the art block I've been struggling with for so long. There's very little to be inspired about here.