hi i’m new and shit, an absolute novice

Fupe

Reaction score
just everything you guys talk about and that lifestyle has always intrigued me but i’m absoutly terrified about stepping out to do it myself because i don’t want to be left alone. what’s the chances someone would be willing to take some newbie under their wing, and what’s the chances id want to put my future in the hands of a stranger? i always wanted to live a simple life, away from material goods and the consumerist world, and even if that means living as the bottom of society then i want to do it. and i need help. advice?

LysergicAbreaction

Reaction score
Be very careful...

Some strangers will be your best friend until they get you on a freight train, then they could steal your gear and throw you off a moving freight-car to die on the tracks.

Link: https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=jo4Ofn9lmJY

I can't fully blame you though, when I was a kid I would read Kerouac and day dream about hoping freight trains or living alone on a mountain top, however, I ended up doing those things due to circumstances beyond my control, still, I understand the impulse.

I wish you the best of luck, but please BE CAREFUL. Be a good judge of character! And avoid scummy people. Stick with the positive and good hearted.

Reactions: Hans
D

Deleted member 14481

Welcome to StP!

Hopping trains is very dangerous. Living is dangerous, don't get me wrong, but if you have odd job, fling, or busking skills - get on a bus. Bike tour. Get a van, RV, bus. Whatever - however you wanna get around! Have a way to make money, and get familiar with local laws where you are with what you're doing.

And, get use to being by yourself. Don't get a road dawg because you think you need one. Get one because you want one. Making decisions out of desperation is only a bad idea. And, if it means that much to you get an actual dog, or a rat, or some other worthy companion.

Last edited:
D

deleted17310