Hey What's goin on?

Joseph Kustek

Reaction score
Hey all, my name is Joseph, new to the site hence why i'm in the introduction part of the forums. but i am new to this type of life style!! i will be departing from my home town of fort myers, florida. any tips or gear suggestions welcome!

T

thelongstrangetripper

Hey joseph, I'm also new to this lifestyle. I've been on the road with my girlfriend for a little over 2 months now. From MN, we're currently in AZ on our way to san Diego.

One thing I'd suggest as far as direction/location to travel goes, its about to be winter. Stay along the southern states. I'm from MN and northern AZ nights are too cold for me to sleep in without the right gear... Invest in a good sleeping bag. Its better to be sleeping hot than sleeping cold.
One problem that I'm running into right now is pack size. Not sure how much it weighs, but I carry a medium sized backpack and large US army duffel bag. Too much man. Its decent for traveling urban areas by car, bus and foot, but rural areas are too spread out for heavy loads. There are actually quite a few things that go with me that I'm just waiting to unload. You'll be surprised at how much you'll find that you actually end up not needing.

My advice is still pretty limited, but hope I can help at all. ✌

Joseph Kustek

Reaction score
Oh, awesome man thanks for the tips! yeah i am getting the first timers curse of over packing i guess, i am more concerned about volume of food/water. best types of food for weight-calories. also wondering for any smokers, best type of tobacco for this type of lifestyle?

T

thelongstrangetripper