Hello

Myechtatel

Reaction score
Hello, I'm Olive. I just started traveling with my girlfriend and dog. A couple months ago we took a greyhound(never doing that again!) to Atlanta and hitched to Athens, Ga. We stayed there for a while, met lots of travelers and learned the ropes. We eventually made it to North Carolina and then back home to Kissimmee, FL which is just south of Orlando. We learned a lot from our tripped and immediately planned our next one. We got a bunch of sweet new gear and are leaving again tomorrow to hitchhike to Gainesville, FL. We're gonna hang out there for a few days and the go to Ocala for our first Rainbow Gathering.
I've used this site a couple times and found it to be very helpful. There are not a whole lot of resources out there. Anyway, I figured I would join and meet some people and share my experience and experiences. I am pretty new to this but I do know a lot about gear. I am pretty passionate and I'm always looking for better gear and ways to cut down on weight and space. I've made a couple mistakes with gear and really regretted it. When you're living on the streets your backpack and tent(if you use a tent) is your home and it's really worth it to spend a little more money and get some quality hiking stuff.
Anyway, Just wanted to introduce myself. See you in the forums!

jpitcher

Reaction score
Hi Olive, what do you use for sleeping when you're on the road? I'm in the northeast so I'm relegated to using a bag but I'm curious if you can get away with blankets in the south. Or, are they too heavy? Also, what are you using for a pack? Also into gear!!

Myechtatel

Reaction score