Hello from Europe. Heading to Africa soon. NO PAPERS! | Squat the Planet

Hello from Europe. Heading to Africa soon. NO PAPERS!

Reaction score
Hello,

I am currently couchsurfing in Europe longterm. I am a former soldier, trying to shake my brainwashing, and re-discover the hippie I thought I was before the military and the hippie that I have always wanted to be. My hair is long, I'm camping, and I'm traveling the world one border at a time. I have been on the road for two years now and I'm heading from central Europe to Africa. The clincher is this. I'm traveling with NO PAPERS of any sort. No identification, nothing but a backpack, clothes, some gadgets and a bit of cash. I have traveled excessively and have been to over 30 countries while I was employed. I planned on doing this for years, but it just wasn't a big enough thrill for a lack of better terms, so I decided that I would do it with NO PASSPORT, no identification of any sort. My name isn't even on a thing that I own. Nothing. Now, I can tell you that this has added a whole new level of thrill to my adventure. I've had some close calls, and some risky situations, but so far after two years and about 12-15 borders including one flight (had a friend who was taking boarding passes) I'm now heading down to Africa.

I'm really psyched that this board exists and would love to chat with anyone who has tips on how to hop borders in Africa, knows how to stow away on ships, or otherwise get around without papers. I have some of my own tricks and would love to converse with anyone else who has like minded interests.

I can tell you this. Life is awesome, and I'm happier than I have ever been in my life. If you want an adventure do like i did and burn your passport. No safety net, no nothing. It really adds some edge to life on the road and it's most of time easier than you think it would be! I've watched Into the Wild as my initial inspiration, but still have not gotten the courage to burn my money. :)