Greetings from Canada, Eh! | Squat the Planet

Greetings from Canada, Eh!

ruckrambler

Reaction score
Hi, everybody!

Long time listener, first time caller.

I've been lurking around the forum for about a year now, always interested in what other travelers like to use in terms of equipment on the road, as I'm a bit of a gear junkie.

I first started hitchhiking back in 2012 when I wanted to travel from Southern British Columbia to the Yukon Territories, I didn't save any money so I hitchhiked out of necessity and fell in love instantly. Since then I can't really manage to stay in one place for any longer than a year before I start getting the "cabin fever" and I have to get back on the road. Last summer I left BC to hitchhike across Canada as I had never been East of the Rocky mountains, ran out of funds and food in Thunder Bay, Ontario. I'm a professional cook by trade, so I got a job at a restaurant here, met a lovely lady, and got stuck. Lately though, I'm feeling more and more inclined to get back on the road, as I still need to reach the East coast, and explore the maritime provinces.

I check the forums often here, and always enjoy reading your crazy posts and comments; excited to be a member now, thank you all for having me!

Cheers,

Paul

Aye! Welcome fellow Canadian!! I have plans to do the same as you did but opposite direction.. east to west. I will probably rubber tramp though. I'm currently in Toronto. If you ever are this way come say hi!

ruckrambler

Reaction score
Awesome! Will do! I think you'll have a great trip out West, where are you planning on heading?? I'm a BC boy and biased but I think the whole damn province is worth exploring. Happy trails

ruckrambler

Reaction score
Tofino is pretty cool, are you into surfing? It's a big surfer town, it's quite "touristy" though, I much prefer Ucluelet, it's all worth seeing though! I'm sure you'll have a great time on Vancouver island!

Reactions: Billy Cougar White

Billy Cougar White